Since Starz has only aired five seasons, we didn’t want to get too far ahead of ourselves for those who only watch the TV series. But since part of book six was used in Season 5, we included quotes from the first six epic novels, many of which have been used in the scripts for the series. And with Season 6dropping on Starz on March 6, 2022, we thought it time to get back in the Highland spirit with our favorite quotes.

50 best Outlander quotes from the show and books

  1. Jamie: “I said I was a virgin, not a monk."
  2. Jamie: “You have my name and my family, my clan, and if necessary, the protection of my body as well."
  3. Claire: “Listen to me. If you ever raise a hand to me again, James Fraser, I will cut out your heart and eat it for breakfast, do you understand me?”
  4. Jamie: “I am your master…and you’re mine. Seems I canna possess your soul without losing my own.”
  5. Jamie: “Aye, I believe ye, Sassenach. But it would ha’ been a good deal easier if you’d only been a witch.”
  6. Jamie: “When I asked my Da how ye knew which was the right woman, he told me when the time came, I’d have no doubt. And I didn’t. When I woke in the dark under that tree on the road to Leoch, with you sitting on my chest, cursing me for bleeding to death, I said to myself, ‘Jamie Fraser, for all ye canna see what she looks like, and for all she weighs as much as a good draft horse, this is the woman.’”
  7. Jamie: “I wanted ye from the first I saw ye–but I loved ye when you wept in my arms and let me comfort you, that first time at Leoch.”
  8. Jamie: “And you, my Sassenach? What were you born for? To be lady of a manor, or to sleep in the fields like a gypsy? To be a healer, or a don’s wife, or an outlaw’s lady?"
  9. Jamie: “Dinna be afraid. There’s the two of us now.”
  10. Jamie: “I meant it, Claire. My life is yours. And it’s yours to decide what we shall do, where we go next. To France, to Italy, even back to Scotland. My heart has been yours since first I saw ye, and you’ve held my soul and body between your two hands here, and kept them safe. We shall go as ye say.”
  11. Jamie: “Blood of my blood, and bone of my bone. You carry me within ye, Claire, and ye canna leave me now, no matter what happens. You are mine, always, if ye will it or no, if ye want me or nay. Mine, and I wilna let ye go.”
  12. Claire: “When you took me from the witch trial at Cranesmuir–you said then that you would have died with me, you would have gone to the stake with me, had it come to that!"
  13. Jamie: “I do know it, my own. Let me tell ye in your sleep how much I love you. For there’s no so much I can be saying to ye while ye wake, but the same poor words, again and again. While ye sleep in my arms, I can say things to ye that would be daft and silly waking, and your dreams will know the truth of them. Go back to sleep, mo duinne.”
  14. Jamie: “And yet when I think of you wi’ my child at your breast…then I feel as though I’ve gone hollow as a soap bubble, and perhaps I shall burst with joy.”
  15. Jamie: “You’ll lie wi’ me now. And I shall use ye as I must. And if you’ll have your revenge for it, then take it and welcome, for my soul is yours, in all the black corners of it.”
  16. Jamie: “Damn right I begrudge! I grudge every memory of yours that doesna hold me, and every tear ye’ve shed for another, and every second you’ve spent in another man’s bed!”
  17. Claire: “All right you bloody Scottish bastard, let’s see how stubborn you really are.”
  18. Jamie: “For if you feel for me as I do for you–then I am asking you to tear out your heart and live without it.”
  19. Jamie: “Sassenach, I’ve been stabbed, bitten, slapped, and whipped since supper–which I didna get to finish. I dinna like to scare children an I dinna like to flog men, and I’ve had to do both. I’ve two hundred English camped three miles away, and no idea what to do about them. I’m tired, I’m hungry, and I’m sore. If you’ve anything like womanly sympathy about ye, I could use a bit!”
  20. Jamie: “I want to hold you like a kitten in my shirt, and still I want to spread your thighs and plow ye like a rotting bull. I dinna understand myself.”
  21. Jamie: “I will find you,” he whispered in my ear. “I promise. If I must endure two hundred years of purgatory, two hundred years without you–then that is my punishment, which I have earned for my crimes. For I have lied, and killed, and stolen; betrayed and broken trust. But there is the one thing that shall lie in the balance. When I shall stand before God, I shall have one thing to say, to weigh against the rest. Lord, ye gave me a rare woman, and God! I loved her well.”
  22. Brianna: “He gave you to me. Now I have to give you back to him, Mama.”
  23. Jamie: “Do ye want me? Sassenach, will ye take me–and risk the man that I am, for the sake of the man ye knew?”
  24. Jamie: “To have ye with me again–to talk wi’ you–to know I can say anything, not guard my words or hide my thoughts–God, Sassenach,” he said, “the Lord knows I am lust-crazed as a lad, and I canna keep my hands from you–or anything else–” he added, wryly, “but I would count that all well lost, had I no more than the pleasure of havin’ ye by me, and to tell ye all my heart.”
  25. Jamie: “Do ye not understand? I would lay the world at your feet, Claire–and I have nothing to give ye!”
  26. Jamie: “For so many years, for so long, I have been so many things, so many different men. But here," he said, so softly I could barely hear him, “here in the dark, with you…I have no name.”
  27. Jamie: “Then kiss me, Claire,” he whispered, “And know that you are more to me than life, and I have no regret.”
  28. Jamie: “Only you. To worship ye with my body, give ye all the service of my hands. To give ye my name, and all my heart and soul with it. Only you. Because ye will not let me lie–and yet ye love me.”
  29. Jamie: “You are my courage, as I am your conscience. You are my heart—and I your compassion. We are neither of us whole, alone. Do ye not know that, Sassenach?”
  30. Claire: “Whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God: Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried. Be it Scottish hill or southern forest. You do what you have to; I’ll be there.”
  31. Jamie: “And when my body shall cease, my soul will still be yours. Claire–I swear by my hope of heaven, I will not be parted from you.”
  32. Jamie: “Your face is my heart Sassenach, and the love of you is my soul.”
  33. Jamie: “Twenty-four years ago today, I married ye, Sassenach,” he said softly. “I hope ye willna have cause yet to regret it.”
  34. Jamie: “What possessed ye, woman, to hit me in the heid wi’ a fish whilst I was fighting for my life?”
  35. Lord John: “I hated him for as long as I could. But then I realized that loving him…that was a part of me, and one of the best parts. It didn’t matter that he couldn’t love me, that had nothing to do with it. But if I couldn’t forgive him, then I could not love him, and that part of me was gone. And I found eventually that I wanted it back.”
  36. Claire: “You’re beautiful to me, Jamie,” I said softly, at last. “So beautiful, you break my heart.”
  37. Jamie: “I love you, a nighean donn. I have loved ye from the moment I saw ye, I will love ye ’til time itself is done, and so long as you are by my side, I am well pleased wi’ the world.”
  38. Jamie: “I have lived through war and lost much. I know what’s worth the fight, and what is not. Honor and courage are matters of the bone, and what a man will kill for, he will sometimes die for, too. And that, O kinsman, is why a woman has broad hips; that bony basin will harbor a man and his child alike. A man’s life springs from his woman’s bones, and in her blood is his honor christened. For the sake of love alone, I would walk through fire again.”
  39. Jamie: “D’ye ken that the only time I am without pain is in your bed, Sassenach? When I take ye, when I lie in your arms–my wounds are healed, then, my scars forgotten.”
  40. Claire: “Our lovemaking was always risk and promise–for if he held my life in his hands when he lay with me, I held his soul, and knew it.”
  41. Claire: “You invent yourself…You look at other women–or men; you try on their lives for size. You take what you can use, and you look inside yourself for what you can’t find elsewhere. And always…always…you wonder if you’re doing it right.”
  42. Jamie: “When the day shall come, that we do part, if my last words are not ‘I love you’—ye’ll ken it was because I didna have time.”
  43. Jamie: “I canna look at ye asleep without wanting to wake ye, Sassenach. I suppose I find myself lonely without ye.”
  44. Jamie: “Ye’ve no idea how lovely ye look, stark naked, wi’ the sun behind you. All gold, like ye were dipped in it.”
  45. Jamie: “We’ve ghosts enough between us, Sassenach. If the evils of the past canna hinder us-neither then shall any fears of the future. We must just must put things behind us and get on. Aye?”
  46. Jamie: “There is an oath upon her. She may not kill, save it is for mercy or her life. It is myself who kills for her.”
  47. Brianna: “All I want is for you to love me. Not because of what I can do or what I look like, or because I love you—just because I am.”
  48. Brianna: “Jemmy won’t get to go to Disneyland—but he’ll have that. A family that laughs—and millions of little lights in the trees.”
  49. Jamie: “Because, Sassenach, when ye’re a man, a good bit of what ye have to do is to draw up lines and fight other folk who come over them. Your enemies, your tenants, your children—your wife. Ye canna always just strike them or take a strap to them, but when ye can, at least it’s clear to everyone who’s in charge.”
  50. Jamie: “Claire, it was you. It’s always been you, and it always will be. Get into bed and put the candle out. As soon as I’ve fastened the shutters, smoored the hearth, and barred the door, I’ll come and keep ye warm.” Next, all the Outlander facts we learned from Men In Kilts. 

50 Best Outlander Quotes   Jamie   Claire Fraser Quotes - 6050 Best Outlander Quotes   Jamie   Claire Fraser Quotes - 9050 Best Outlander Quotes   Jamie   Claire Fraser Quotes - 2850 Best Outlander Quotes   Jamie   Claire Fraser Quotes - 8450 Best Outlander Quotes   Jamie   Claire Fraser Quotes - 74