American Idol alum and country music star Gabby Barrett returned to mentor the Top 14 and offer guidance on what it takes to become America’s next superstar. Luke Bryan, Katy Perry and Lionel Richie were also on hand to critique the performances. Here’s how the night shook out:

Who was eliminated on American Idol season 20 last night?

Ava Maybee

Allegra Miles Dan Marshall

Who made it through to the Top 11 on American Idol season 20 last night?

Leah Marlene

HunterGirl Jay Copeland Fritz Hager Nicolina Bozzo Noah Thompson Christian Guardino Lady K Emeryson Flora Mike Parker Tristen Gressett

American Idol last night’s recap

Jay Copeland, 23 Salisbury, Md. Musician “Just the Way You Are” by Bruno Mars Lionel: “That was amazing. For the first time, you are actually showing up on stage singing songs you should be singing. This is who you are. This is the closest thing to your artistry, who you are going to be as an artist. This song nailed it. I loved what you did.” HunterGirl, 23 Winchester, Tenn. Music Therapist “Baby Girl” by Sugarland Katy: You have a heart of gold, a voice of gold, and I want to see you win. I think everyone in American wants to see you win because you’re a legit, great person with a great talent and you’re discovering  the bigness of that talent right now on stage. I like when you do those runs, throw your hands in the air and I just see that fringe go. Next time I get to see you sing, I want ownership of that stage. I would be so happy if you won this competition.” Christian Guardino, 21 Patchogue, N.Y. Kitchen Staff “Take me to Church” by Hozier Luke: “What I loved about that is when you had the microphone on the microphone stand, it wasn’t what you wanted to be doing. You wanted to grab the microphone right off the bat. Once you got away from the stand, you took it to another level and another level. Think about these things. If you are not altogether comfortable with something, make sure you are firing on all cylinders right off the bat. Man, your voice is always so solid. Great job.” Dan Marshall, 24 Chesapeake, Va. Land Surveyor “She’s Got It All” by Kenny Chesney Lionel: “And that’s how you do it! What I’m loving is ownership. You walked on stage and you owned it. I love Kenny Chesney, but that was your song. I will tell you this. You have to get in your head one thing. You are still going, ‘I can’t believe this is happening.’ Not only is it happening, but it is happening to your best advantage. You are sounding like a star. I’m loving it.” Leah Marlene, 20 Normal, Ill. Musician “Happy Together” by The Turtles Katy: “The show has finally started! Great song choice because it is nice to see a variation of what you can do and bringing back that slaying guitar. You look like and you act like you have this confidence. You are so cool. It feels like you’ve arrived. This girl who had this patchwork little mop hat when she first showed up on the scene. Now look at you. I saw the palm trees in the background, and I was like, ‘Are we at Coachella?’ You are finally that cool, Leah.” Fritz Hager, 22 Tyler, Texas Unemployed Security Officer “Let It Go” by James Beck Luke: “You are an artist buddy. The way you sold that on guitar and held the room. Any time I feel like I’m not at American Idol when I watch a contestant, I feel like I am at a show and that felt like I was at your show.” Tristen Gressett, 17 Pell City, Ala. High School Student “What Do You Want From Me” by Adam Lambert Lionel: “What I am loving now is you are adding a little element that we haven’t seen but we have been talking about called acting. What you have on stage now is stage presence and that brings in the acting. What I love is how you followed that camera and then you looked away. Got me right away. Fabulous! I loved that performance.” Lady K, 25 Tuskegee, Ala. Musician “I Believe” by Fantasia Katy: “She is a lady and I believe. Elegance personified. The glow is so real. I am sure your phone is blowing up. That was a beautiful song. Way to pay tribute. All around, the growth is just incredible.” Allegra Miles, 19 West Palm Beach, Fla. Singer/Songwriter “Ocean Eyes” by Billie Eilish Luke: “That is why we saved you. Beautiful performance. Loved when you got up from the piano. Loved when you took your hands off the piano, and you got free. I loved all the falsetto choices. You nailed them all. Great performance.” Ava Maybee, 20 Los Angeles, Calif. College Student “Sign of the Times” by Harry Styles Lionel: “What you established right away is there is no maybe about Ava. What I can see here is you are stepping into your light. Let me give you a little critique. The first half of the song you were thinking, the second half of the song you were enjoying it. The first half, get out of your head. From now on, for the rest of your career, if your head is talking, the singing is not going to vibe right. The second half was on fire.” Mike Parker, 27 Warrentown, Va. Carpenter “Hurricane” by Luke Combs Katy: “That was your stage. You made that stage yours. You were ‘sanging.’ That was  authentic country soul ‘sanging.’ I was vibing. It was your stage.” Emeryson Flora, 16 Cleveland, Ohio High School Student “drivers license” by Olivia Rodrigo Luke: “Great song choice. It is hard for me to wrap my head around you being 16 years old. Your stage presence, the way you sing, it is so timeless and classic. Great performance on that.” Noah Thompson, 19 Louisa, Ky. Construction Worker “Stand By Me” by Ben. E. King Lionel: “Gaby gave you a gift by changing that song because you actually felt that song. You were in it. I know you were trying to figure out your navigation, but your voice fit that song perfectly. You just need to lean in. There will be moments when you start to pick your own songs, pick songs that you feel. Feeling is everything in this business.” Nicolina Bozzo, 18 Toronto, Ontario, Canada University Student “Hallelujah” by Jeff Buckley Katy: “That was so angelic. It was like watching an angel sing this beautiful song. Backstage, we have a fight over who does the best rendition. Is it Leonard Cohen? Is it Jeff Buckley? It might be Nicolina. It was really, really beautiful. You held on to it.  You controlled it. It was amazing.” American Idol airs Sunday and Monday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC. Next, Make Your Vote Count! How to Vote Online or By Text on American Idol 2022

American Idol Results  Who Was Eliminated and Who Made the Top 11 Last Night on Season  2022  - 55