Variety reported in 2020 that Jennifer Grey was working with Lionsgate on a new dance film that was unnamed at the time, but has now been confirmed as the Dirty Dancing sequel.  The original film was released on August 21, 1987, and grossed $214.6 million at the box office. According to Lionsgate, the film is the best-selling library title in the studio’s arsenal. “While the original ‘Dirty Dancing’ has always been one of my favorite films, I never imagined I would direct the sequel," Levine said in a statement. “Through co-writing it, I fell in love with the characters (new and old), the world of 1990s Catskills New York, and the music, which will range from songs from the original movie to ‘90s hip-hop. I can’t wait to collaborate with Jennifer to bring this beautiful story of summer and romance and dancing to a generation of new fans. And to the longtime ones, I promise we will not ruin your childhood. We will tackle the assignment with sophistication, ambition, and, above all, love.”We cannot wait to get on the dance floor for this new Dirty Dancing sequel! Next, check out our favorite quotes from the original Dirty Dancing.