“My name is Val Kilmer. I’ve lived a magical life, and I’ve captured quite a bit of it. I was the first guy I knew to own a video camera. I have thousands of hours of videotapes and film reels that I’ve shot throughout my life and career,” Jack narrates. “I’ve wanted to tell a story about acting for a very long time. About the place where you end and the character begins. About truth and illusion,” he adds. “Now that it’s more difficult to speak, I want to tell my story more than ever. A story about my life that is also not my life.” The documentary—featuring footage of Kilmer and Tom Cruise from the set of their 1986 film Top Gun—went on to win Best Narration and Best Historical or Biographical Documentary at the sixth annual Critics Choice Documentary Awards. In 2021, Kilmer took to his social media to mark the release of VAL in theaters, writing, “I’m so proud of this film and hope you’ll allow me to share some of the most intimate, outstanding, and raw moments of my life.” Find out how to watch the Val Kilmer documentary.

Where can I see the Val Kilmer documentary?

VAL can be streamed on Prime Video. Kilmer told Vultureof the project, “I always felt that the stories behind the stories we were telling would make a great film. Reading between the lines chronicling the life of an actor.” He explained that he was “vulnerable and honest” in the footage.

How do I watch the Val Kilmer documentary?

Stream the documentary on Prime Video. Kilmer explained that his philosophy is somewhat simple, and that the film captures it: “Life is a spiritual journey and my goal is to live in the moment. Being present-minded has taken me to places of the extreme, both light and dark. I’ve always had an opinion about the stories we were telling and this often led to a healthy amount of creative tension. But things aren’t always adversarial. I’ve had wonderful collaborations with filmmakers.”

Is the documentary Val on Netflix?

The Val Kilmer documentary is not available on Netflix.

Is the Val Kilmer documentary free on Prime Video?

When did the Val Kilmer documentary come out?

VAL was released in the summer of 2021. At the time, he told Vultureif he had advice for his younger self, he’d tell him, “Slow down, my friend. Waste more time. Pray more.”

What is the Val Kilmer documentary rated?

The documentary is rated R for violence, smoking, alcohol use, sexual content, nudity and foul language, per Prime Video. Next, find out Tom Cruise’s net worth!

Val Kilmer Documentary VAL  2022   How to Watch - 80