With Killing Eve’s fourth and final season premiering Sunday, Feb. 27, 2022, Comer is already waxing nostalgic about what the show and the role have meant to her. “There are so many layers to Villanelle,” Comer told Harper’s Bazaar UK in late 2021. “She’s multifaceted and you can’t really pin her down. She’s instilled a sense of fearlessness in me. Through playing her, I’ve had to shed my own self-consciousness.” Still, the actress is also ready to see where her career takes her once Killing Eve’s finale bows. As she added to the outlet, “I mean, I’m terrified, I’ve got a lot of work to do, but I’m so hungry for something new that’s going to challenge me and force me out of my comfort zone.” Curious to learn more about where Comer comes from and where she’s headed? Keep reading to find out everything we know about Jodie Comer’s upbringing, early career roles, age, height, boyfriend and more.

Who is Jodie Comer in Killing Eve?

Comer plays Oksana Astankova, an international assassin known as Villanelle. The central relationship of the show is between Villanelle and Eve Polastri (Oh), a British Intelligence agent tasked with tracking her down. Initially, Comer didn’t think the part of Villanelle was right for her. She told The Guardian, “I’d originally seen the word ‘assassin’ and was like, ‘Pfft, it’s not me. I don’t know if it’s in me… The femme fatale kind of thing, it definitely doesn’t come naturally." In choosing Comer for the role, casting director Gilly Poole told Backstage UK, “It was important that [Eve] felt like a real young woman, not a daft action woman. When you watch Jodie climb up the side of that building in Tuscany, you’re looking at a proper girl, and that was really important. Villanelle needed to have as much humor as Eve. We knew Jodie had a great sense of humor. She’s from Liverpool and she’s very grounded and funny, but most of the parts she’s played were serious and intense characters."

What is Jodie Comer’s age?

Comer was born on March 11, 1993, making her 28 years old heading into the final season of KillingEve. There’s a significant age gap between Comer and her Eve co-star Oh, who is 50, and that is deliberate. Phoebe Waller-Bridge, the first-season head writer and showrunner on Killing Eve, told the Mirror that she initially considered playing one of the central characters herself, but “I just had a really strong instinct that there should be this age gap because I just felt like it was something I hadn’t seen… And I don’t know if I could have scaled a wall quite like she could have done, and I’m not in my early 40s either.”

Who is Jodie Comer’s boyfriend?

James Burke is a former lacrosse player from New England who currently works in the tech industry. In the summer of 2020, a storm of online misinformation led many to believe that Burke was a devout conservative, which called into question Comer’s support for the LGBTQIA+ community. While Comer’s fanbase turned rather vicious, the couple did not address the rumors at the time, but since then, Comer has spoken out about how it upended her life. In an interview with InStyle, she said, “It was really shocking; it was the first time I had ever been dragged into something like that… And it wasn’t just me; it was my family. I had seen the absurdity of what I was being accused of, and what my partner was being accused of. I decided for my own health that I was not going to try and convince these people otherwise. I just wasn’t going to do it."

Is Jodie Comer in a StarWars movie?

In the final movie of the Star Wars saga, The Rise of Skywalker, Comer has a very brief appearance in a flashback as Rey’s mother–a significant moment as speculation about Rey’s parentage was rampant among fans, and the revelation about the heroine’s ancestry plays a key factor in the finale.  

How tall is Jodie Comer?

With a five-foot-eight frame, Comer comes across onscreen as quite a tall glass of water. Killing Eve costume designer CharlotteMitchell has publicly praised the actress for also rocking a normal-sized figure. “She’s fantastic, she’s 5 ft 8 [and] a size 10, she’s a normal size,” Mitchell said in June 2019. “She’s wonderful, she’s healthy!”

Where is Jodie Comer from?

Comer was born and raised in Liverpool and has retained her native Scouse accent, surprising many fans of the show accustomed to hearing Villanelle swap between myriad accents as part of her assassin’s disguises. When she was getting her acting career off the ground, she worried that her distinctive accent would be an issue and that she’d have to work at shedding it. “I always had this thing in my head that I needed to or I would be taken more seriously if I did,” she told Radio Times in 2020. In an interview with Glamour UK, she recalls an audition for a play where the director had a clear class-based bias against how she sounded “The character was middle-class, RP [Received Pronunciation, or what Americans would call “typically British”], very well-spoken and from a very wealthy family. I got there, it was obvious I must’ve been the only Scouser and definitely girl from the Northwest of England. It wasn’t until I got the part that the director had told me that before I went in, she was like, ‘Why have we brought her in for the audition?’ because she had seen where I was from, and she didn’t think I was capable."

What was Jodie Comer’s first TV role?

Comer got her start in television with a guest spot on the British series The Royal Today, a medical drama. After several appearances on other serials like Law & Order: UK, Doctors and Inspector George Gently, Comer was cast as series regular Chloe Gemell in the teen comedy-drama My Mad Fat Diary, which aired from 2013-2015 and is available to view on Hulu. That led to other starring roles in British TV series such as 2016’s Thirteen, in which she plays Ivy Moxam, a woman who was kidnapped as a teenager and escaped years later. Comer received a nomination for Best Actress from the British Academy Television Awards for the part. 

What movies has Jodie Comer been in? 

Comer has appeared in a handful of movies for both the big and small screen, including a 2015 adaptation of D.H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover and 2017’s England is Mine, a biopic about rocker Morrissey’s early years before helming 1980s post-punk band The Smiths. More recently, she starred opposite Reynolds in Free Guy, a sci-fi action comedy in which he plays a bank teller who learns he’s a background character in an online multiplayer video game. Comer plays Millie, a programmer trying to find her stolen source code from inside the game. 

Who is Jodie Comer in The Last Duel?

For Comer’s other high-profile 2021 film role, she starred alongside Damon, Adam Driverand Ben Affleck in the medieval historical drama The Last Duel, directed by Ridley Scott. Comer plays Marguerite de Carrouges, the wife of Jean de Carrouges (Damon) who accuses Jean’s friend Jacques Le Gris (Driver) of raping her. The accusation leads Jean to challenge Jacques to a duel and the film is divided into three sections, each told from the separate perspective of the three main characters leading up to the duel. Of working with the dynamic duo of Damon and Affleck, Comer told W Magazine, “You come into a situation like this when you’re surrounded by people you’ve admired and watched for a lot of your life, and it’s very surreal. But then you meet them—and Nicole [Holofcener, who co-wrote the screenplay with Damon and Affleck] as well—and they’re just so incredibly down to earth and welcoming. And they really included me in conversations about the script. If they were having dinner, they’d invite me over and they weren’t precious when it came to suggestions or if there was something I wasn’t feeling was quite right or I wanted a line changed. There was no ‘them’ and ‘us.’ It was really inclusive, which, to come onto a film of this size and be met with that, was just so heartwarming.”

What was Jodie Comer’s first job?

Comer started acting as a teenager, when a drama teacher encouraged her to audition for a radio play, which became her first professional acting job. As she was working on building her career, Comer was also employed part-time at a Tesco (a British supermarket/general goods chain), with two long shifts as a cashier on the weekends. As she once recalled to Glamour UK, she’d sometimes work while hungover, which did not go over well with the boss: “I used to have a part-time job and [the boss] hated me… I think it was because I was hungover! I had the 10 a.m.- 4 p.m. shift on the Saturday and then the Sunday 10-4.”

Is Jodie Comer married?

Comer is currently not married, at least as far as fans know; she keeps much of her personal life private and has little presence on social media, except for an Instagram account that is largely used for professional promotion. She tells W Magazine, “There’s definitely part of my life that I want to keep sacred in a way. That’s always been important to me. It’s just navigating that and knowing what it is that you’re willing and not willing to share. It’s nice to keep some things to yourself and not have everything out there, because, of course, with acting, people think they have a very clear indication of who you are as a person. I also just love thinking back to old Hollywood, with no social media and the mystery that surrounded the people we adored onscreen. A lot of that has fizzled away. Of course, we’re in a different age, but I quite crave that.” Next, From the Bullet in Hamilton to the Firecracker in West Side Story! All About Actress Ariana DeBose 

Who Is Killing Eve Star Jodie Comer  Age  Height  Boyfriend  Roles - 32